ACSCA: Patrick Obaze re-elected president

13 November 2010 at 03:12 | 2469 views

In a keenly contested and exciting race, Patrick Obaze (photo), the incumbent president of the African-Canadian Soccer and Cultural Association (ACSCA) was re-elected for another two-year term Sunday November 7 at the Lagos Corner restaurant in Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada.

His opponent was Dominic Usseni, a sports promoter, businessman and soccer enthusiast. Patrick got 11 votes and Dominic got 8 votes. The voters were the ACSCA board of directors. One of the board members, Patrick Otulio, did not vote. He was away in Sudan, his home country and could not make voting arrangements in time.

The other members of the ACSCA executive were returned unopposed or re-elected except for one. They are: Bobson Sesay (Vice-President), Jerry Gbardy(Secretary), Alex Sacha Touray(Treasurer), Justus Mirembe (Public Relations Officer-1). Adebo Mahmoud, the PRO-2, was unseated by Mandla Sibiya.

In a pre-election message read on his behalf, President Obaze (who is in Nigeria to attend to urgent family matters) reiterated his commitment to the association and to the African community in British Columbia. He promised an African soccer league and various other activities to keep the community fully engaged through out the year. He also repeated earlier promises to have ACSCA community centre, increase ACSCA assets and funds and bring in more women into the board of directors. The board currently comprises of 20 members, 18 men and two women.

In his own pre-election speech Dominic promised to foster and promote unity among members and the rest of the community, abolish the East-Africa versus West-Africa mini tournament and instead have an inter-povincial tournament like for example BC versus Ontario, create more events including youth programs and network with other organizations.

The members of the ACSCA board of directors are: Tavares Wavu Kumdinda, Jean-Jacques Bosco, Gibril Koroma, Melissa Wilson, Patrick Otulio, Ocheng Lubayi, Adebo Mahmoud, Alex Sacha Touray, Justus Mirembe, Dominic Usseni, Jerry Gbardy, Leiman Cooper, Patrick Obaze, Bobson Sesay,Carol Nnamanda, Taiwo Eze, Ali Farah, Tariku Tesfa, Mandla Sibiya and Ramandan Malish.