Five players shortlisted 2013 award

4 January 2014 at 03:19 | 11521 views


Five players have been shortlisted for the Sierra Leonean player of the year 2013 award after they were nominated by Sierra Leonean Sports Journalists based on their performances at both club and national team level throughout the year.

They are Kei Ansu Kamara (Middlesbrough, England), Mohamed ’Medo’ Kamara (Bolton Wanderers, England), John Bankole Kamara (Apollon Smyrni, Greece), Umaru ’Zingalay’ Bangura (Dinamo Minsk, Belarus) and George ’Kweku’ Davies (FC Johansen, Sierra Leone).

These players received the highest number of points among footballers nominated for the prestigious award by Sierra Leonean Sports Journalists.
Viewers of the website now have the chance to decide the winner of the award by voting for their favourite choice.

Voting starts on Sunday 22nd December 2013 and ends on Saturday 11th January 2014. The player with the highest number of points will be declared the winner on the 12th January 2014.

He will be presented with a glittering trophy specially designed by a United Kingdom company.

Kei Kamara won the maiden award in 2012 defeating Mohamed ’Medo’ Kamara, Umaru ’Zingalay’ Bangura, Sheriff Suma and goal keeper Christian Caulker.

He received the award (a glittering trophy with his name inscripted on it ) in front of his Leone Stars team mates in June in Freetown few days before the Sierra Leone versus Tunisia 2014 World Cup qualifying game.

The award motivated him and as a result he netted Leone Stars’ opening goal in the match.

Players profiles 2013

Kei Ansu Kamara: Age 29, was recently crowned the Sports Writers Association of Sierra Leone (SWASAL) footballer of the year 2013. Currently he plays for English Championship side Middlesbrough. He has netted four goals so far in the league this season.Earlier in the year Kamara had a brief loan spell with Premiership outfit Norwich City. He made eleven appearances for Norwich and scored a goal against Everton after he came in as substitute in the second half to become the first Sierra Leonean international to net a goal in the top tier of English football. He returned to US MLS side Sporting Kansas City before he made a permanent move to Middlesbrough in August. At national team level, he accounted for Leone Stars’ first goal in a 2-2 draw with Carthage Eagle of Tunisia in a 2014 World Cup qualifier in Freetown last June.

Mohamed ’Medo’ Kamara: Age 26, is a defensive midfielder who presently plays for English Championship side Bolton Wanderers. He is a regular player for his club since he moved to England last January from Serbian Champions Partizan Belgrade. He has scored two goals so far. The former U-17 Sierra Leonean international has also been a regular player for Leone Stars.

Umaru Bangura: Age 26, a central defender who has just moved to a Belarusian Premier League club Dinamo Minsk from Norwegian top flight league side FK Haugesund. He had a good spell with Haugesund. Bangura has been a regular starting player for Leone Stars since he made his international debut against Mali in 2006 in a 2008 African Cup Of Nations Qualifying match and has been impressive throughout.

George ’Kweku’ Davies: Age 17, He currently plays for Sierra Leonean Premier League club FC Johansen. He was with the Manchester City youth team and wascsubsequently sent to the ’Right to dream’ academy in Ghana before returning home to rejoin FC Johansen. He has been impressive at international level. He made his debut for Leone Stars A team against Tunisia last June and was impressive despite being substituted and Sierra Leone failed to win the match. He was rated as the best player in the Leone Stars home team that represented Sierra Leone at the WAFU Cup in Ghana in November scoring a goal in a 2-2 draw with Benin.

John Bankole Kamara: Age 25, is a defensive midfielder who plays for Greek club Apollon Smyrni. He is one of the key players in the team helping the side to gain promotion to the Greek top tier league last season. Kamara made his international debut against Tunisia last June and has so far won two caps.

To vote please click on below link;

Photo: Back Row: Sheriff Suma, Kei Ansu Kamara, Umaru ’Zingalay’ Bangura, Mohamed ’Poborsky’ Bangura, Ibrahim Tarawally, John Bankole Kamara.

Front Row: Alhassan ’Crespo’ Kamara, Mustapha Dumbuya, George Kweku Davies, Mohamed ’Medo’ Kamara, Ibrahim ’Obrey’ Kargbo.